Chicken with Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce – A HIT!

Tonight I tried out a recipe from Damn Delicious, and it was just that, damn delicious! I do have a bit of improvement to make on the dish, but it turned out pretty well for it being my first time cooking chicken by searing it and then baking it. So if I can make this dish, then you can too. Why do I say this? Because I suck at cooking.

So, what is so awesome about this recipe? It has fairly simple ingredients, for one thing. Also, it smells absolutely wonderful when you’re cooking it (which I LOVE!). So if you are a fan of chicken thighs (or any chicken), tasty creamy sauces, and sun-dried tomatoes, then this is the recipe for you!

IMG_3080

IMG_3081

The original posting can be found here: Chicken with Sun-Dried Tomato Cream Sauce

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, or more, to taste
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/3 cup julienned sun dried tomatoes in olive oil, drained
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves, chiffonade

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Season chicken thighs with salt and pepper, to taste.
  • Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a large oven-proof skillet over medium high heat. Add chicken, skin-side down, and sear both sides until golden brown, about 2-3 minutes per side; set aside.
  • Melt remaining tablespoon butter in the skillet. Add garlic and red pepper flakes, and cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes. Stir in chicken broth, heavy cream, sun dried tomatoes, Parmesan, thyme, oregano and basil.
  • Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until slightly thickened, about 3-5 minutes. Return chicken to the skillet.
  • Place into oven and roast until completely cooked through, reaching an internal temperature of 175 degrees F, about 25-30 minutes.
  • Serve immediately, garnished with basil, if desired.

If you know me, then you know I made some changes to this recipe. For some odd reason I just can’t seem to stick to a recipe as it is exactly laid out. So my changes include: I just bought the best and most affordable looking package of chicken thighs, which came out to be very large thighs with one more than what was needed for the recipe. Totally workable. I also skipped the kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper and used my husband’s special blend of seasonings (mostly season salt with lots of Italian seasonings). I pretty much doubled the cream sauce since I had such ginormous chicken thighs, but that was the best decision ever, and I recommend doing it just so you have more sauce!

When it came to cooking time I didn’t have the required oven-proof skillet that makes this recipe so easy, so I prepared everything in my usual skillet and transferred it all to a casserole dish. Well, I used a casserole dish plus a smaller dish because my thighs took up too much space. The cooking time still worked out well though, but the sauce was not as thick as it should have been. From the reviews of this recipe it could be from the oiliness of the sun-dried tomatoes, but I rinsed mine. So I am convinced that it is the butter separating or the chicken fat rising (or something else, I really have no idea). So I recommend mixing some cornstarch with water to thicken up the sauce a bit. Then you will likely have the perfect concoction of this recipe. I, unfortunately, had a bit runnier experience, but it was still delightful. We served it with mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables.

I hope you all enjoy đŸ™‚

IMG_3084

Leave a Reply

