Dinner Tonight – Oven Hot Dogs

I have been on a new recipe kick, so I am doing my best to put the word out on what is good and what is not so good. Many of the recipes I find are on Pinterest, so it’s good to let everybody know what recipes actually come out being as awesome as it is reviewed to be, and what doesn’t fly in the real world. When it comes the Oven Hot Dogs recipe that I have been meaning to try for over a year now, it definitely flies! There are several improvements that I would recommend though, so keep on reading!

My recommendations:

  1. Use potato bread hot dog buns! They hold up well and taste amazing.
  2. Maybe cook them for just 30-35 minutes. The time mentioned in the recipe (45 minutes) seems a bit long, and the buns were verrry toasty by the time the timer went off.
  3. Perhaps use real mayo. I used Miracle Whip and it seemed to be a bit too sweet.
  4. Chili with beans is best. I only had chili with no beans. It still worked, but I love beans. GO BEANS!
  5. I omitted the relish because I’m the only person in my house that likes relish. It still turned out alright.
  6. A 13×9″ pan was not big enough for all of my hot dogs. So I used that dish to hold six of them, and then a smaller baking dish to hold the other two. Still turned out fine.
  7. Use good quality hot dogs. We’ve been trying to save money, so we bought the cheapest hot dogs EVER. They didn’t taste very good, which kind of ruined the whole baked hot dogs experience. I usually buy Bar-S (local/Made in Oklahoma) and those are pretty cheap too, but I really like cheap hot dogs. But I didn’t like the ones we had tonight, which I think were John Morrell. My husband says they were just fine, but he will eat anything. Even my 4 year old knew these hot dogs weren’t good. That’s saying something!

So with all these tips, you should have some super yummy oven hot dogs! Happy eating 🙂

The recipe from Alyssa B Young follows: Oven Hot Dogs

  • 8 Hot Dogs
  • 8 Hot Dog Buns
  • 1 Can of Chili
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Mayonnaise
  • Mustard
  • Sweet Relish

Line the inside of the hot dog buns with mayo and sweet relish. Evenly add mustard. Fill buns with hot dogs and add to a 13×9″ pan.

Top hot dogs with chili, cheese, and onion. Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

